Analog vs. Digital-Julia Stroup

I enjoyed the article, however I disagree that “volume may be up, but creativity is down.” I feel with the technology that is now available to everyone, people now have that opportunity to create an image, weather it is just a “selfie” and share it. One thing, however, I feel coming from the new technology is an idea that the old ways of creating a photo, printing it, etc. is useless. When I told some of my friends and family I was taking this class even they all asked why “because we don’t do that anymore.” We lost the art and beauty that comes from creating a picture and nurturing it from the time we take it, develop the film, print it, and so on. Yes volume of vast picture taking is taking place, but the way in which we create and share has changed, not lost it’s creativity. I just hope we don’t lose the old ways of photography, and throw them out, instead making them more valuable.

Leave a Reply

